Daily Archives: May 4, 2012

I Had an Itch I Just Had to Scratch

Standard
I Had an Itch I Just Had to Scratch

My garden does not whet the appetite; it satisfies it. It does not provoke thirst through heedless indulgence, but slakes it by proffering its natural remedy. Amid such pleasures as these have I grown old.  Epicurus

I know, I know. I planted a few days too early. I just couldn’t stand it. I just had to get out, dig up the soil and get the seeds in the ground, the itch was killing me. It’s done now. Everything is planted except for the plants I grew indoors, there’s no turning back now. It’s all good, we are expecting frost the next couple of mornings, but I am way ahead of the game. I cut plastic to fit each of my garden spots and if the seeds should happen to fail I have more of each to replant. I couldn’t help myself. Haven’t you ever had that itch and you just had to scratch it. Thankfully I had some help and I now have a garden spot in my back yard perfect for my peppers, eggplant, okra and radishes. I’m so excited about my garden this year. I am going to spend the summer planning recipes for canning. I also have the intention this year of teaching myself how to make homemade Louisiana Gumbo. A garden isn’t just about the work and the garden itself, it’s all about the plans you have lain for your produce after the work is done in the ground. Then the real creative part comes into play as to what you are going to do with your abundance of love and care. That’s the real exciting part, the end result of all your hard work and TLC.