Daily Archives: November 17, 2012

Costume Done!

Standard

Well, here it is. I spent all day working on my masquerade costume for New Year’s Eve when we play at The Frontier Club in Meridian. I had bought this dress at a thrift store a couple of years ago for like $5 with the intention of using it for something and it was perfect for my saloon girl dress. It was actually pretty easy, I just slit the front open, sewed the two sides, punched holes and ran satin ribbon criss cross through it for a bodice. Then I slit the front of the waist down and made a drape effect to show the red satin lining. I still have to finish the mask, so far I have put a black glitter glue design around the eyes and added the red and peacock feathers. I have to wait for the glue to dry over night and I am going to punch a hole under the feathers and add some satin ribbon strands under the feathers. After that all I need is fishnet hose and I am ready! What do you think? I am very pleased with the results and think it’s gonna look really cute…. Miss Lilly requested that I post another song so I am posting our live version of Landslide from the BoEx benefit gig for Baby Maxwell on October the 26th, hope you enjoy! :)

Masquerade

Standard
Masquerade

Sometimes people carry to such perfection the mask they have assumed that in due course they actually become the person they seem. W. Somerset Maugham

I love Halloween and when we got booked to play New Year’s Eve I thought it would be fun to make it into a masquerade party. I have never actually been to a masquerade ball but I thought it would be a lot of fun and mysterious since no one knows who anyone else is. We do the unveiling at midnight. It is mysterious, alluring and romantic to me. This is going to be the best New Year’s ever for me! Well I am off to the craft store to get my supplies, watch me go now! With that I leave you with one of my favorite all time movies and the masquerade ball scene…