For the Love of a Garden

Standard
For the Love of a Garden

It is good to be alone in a garden at dawn or dark so that all its shy presences may haunt you and possess you in a reverie of suspended thought.  ~James Douglas,Down Shoe Lane

Today, with the rising of the sun, my thoughts are on my garden, on warm sunny days, on the back breaking enjoyment of growing my own produce. I can hardly wait for spring to really be here. I am looking forward to planning out my garden layout, buying the seeds and plants and getting down to the nitty gritty job of breaking the earth, feeling the dirt on my hands and finger tips and just breathing the air. The enjoyment of raising a garden of your own has such a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment. I love to watch the seeds grow as they push through the earth with their new green shoots reaching for the kiss from the sun. Oh the joy of a garden!

9 responses »

  1. Having your own garden is great, I’ll bet you’re good at it. I plan to have one this year but I’ll be a rookie. You’re right, there is something about the good dirt of the earth in your hands. To me it’s almost therapeutic! 🙂

  2. Aw, this was a basically top quality article. In theory I’d prefer to write like this also – taking time and genuine work to produce a quality content but what can I say I procrastinate alot and never seem to have anything done.

  3. Pingback: Luff Me and Leaf Me | Small Town World . . .

  4. Pingback: I’m Leafing | Small Town World . . .

  5. Pingback: Gardening Compadre « Happenings on the Hill

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

