Mother and Daughter

Standard
Mother and Daughter

An idea that is developed and put into action is more important than an idea that exists only as an idea. – Buddha

I came up with a brilliant little idea and it has been coming to fruition. My daughter and I are going to be playing the Caldwell Farmer’s Market this summer and I thought it might be a good idea to come up with something creative that we could sell besides our music. We have been diligently working on decorator light switch covers for the last few weeks and will have 20 covers finished before the market starts. I am so excited about the market this year. It will be the first time I have ever performed with my daughter before and I’m happy to see that she is as excited as I am. So, inbetween working on switch covers we have been working on our new set list and I have added about 30 new songs to my repertoire, including a new original and revisiting some old originals I wrote about 10 years ago. It’s nice to revisit the old and really fun getting some new songs under my belt. I can’t even begin to express the happiness I feel at the idea of playing live music with my daughter as a team!

11 responses »

  1. Now I want to know more about what “playing” involves. Singing, guitar, drums, mandolin, banjo, hammered dulcimer….. lol

    I grew up playing the piano from age 2, violin from 6, and voice from 10. I finally gave them all up in 2001. Now I just listen to everyone else.

    • I play rhythm guitar and sing lead vocals. My daughter is learning rhythm. I, like you, started out on the violin in orchestra in 5th grade and switched to guitar in the 8th grade. I am still a far better vocalist than guitar player but my skills are getting better. I have been singing since I was old enough to form a word. Peace Jaz

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

