A Letter to My Mother on Mother’s Day

Standard
A Letter to My Mother on Mother’s Day

My mother had a great deal of trouble with me, but I think she enjoyed it. Mark Twain

Mom,

I realize that I was a very spirited child from the get go, even before I was born. You love to tell friends how I was supposed to be born in December but refused to come out of the womb until February. The fact of the matter is I must have liked it in there. It takes a special kind of strength to deal with my eccentricities, my hippy Bohemian ways, my artistic temper tantrums, my drunken revelries and all that has gone along with being my mom. You have always supported my artistic temperament and before you got sick I have cherished the memories of all my gigs that you have gone to and supported me in just by your presence alone. I’m sure you must be my #1 fan. I am fortunate to have a mother that has always supported me in whatever “new” endeavor I have chosen to take on….I love you Mom…Happy Mother’s Day! Your Daughter, Jaz

4 responses »

  1. Aw, what a sweet letter to your mom, Jaz. Sounds like the perfect pairing of mother and child; so nice when it works out like that! Hope your day was peaceful and happy, and with your own beautiful talented daughter. : ) ~ Lily

  2. My mother had so much trouble witih me that she gave me away when I was a couple of months shy of 11. That was in December 1965. Never made peace with her, and I found out that she died a couple of months ago. I think we both were stubborn about everything that happened.

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

