Dragonfly

Standard
Dragonfly

Dragonfly – A Poem

For the body

A thirsty twig

Blackened as the earth

Forgotten and abandoned over time

For the wings

Smash a stained glass window

And take the pieces

They say that beauty is in the flaws

For the heart

Let it fly freely

Unencumbered by confinement

For freedom is of what we dream.

© 2011 Anne Oddity. All rights reserved.

By my Buddhist nature I am always learning how to be more in tune with nature. Last winter I was having a collision with ravens and then it was peacocks. Lately it seems that dragonflies keep coming to me in nature. It seems they are everywhere! What strikes me as strange about this is that there are no wet lands even remotely close to my house. Dragonflies are amazing creatures. They can fly up to 60 MPH. In Japan they represent courage, hope and happiness. To me they are beautiful and I love how Anne Oddity described their wings as stained glass. The wings of a dragonfly are so very transparent yet absolutely loaded with the colors of the rainbow. For whatever reason it seems dragonflies are my representative symbol for this early summer and I love it!

2 responses »

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

