Sometimes it’s the Simple Things

Standard
Sometimes it’s the Simple Things

To find the universal elements enough; to find the air and the water exhilarating; to be refreshed by a morning walk or an evening saunter… to be thrilled by the stars at night; to be elated over a bird’s nest or a wildflower in spring – these are some of the rewards of the simple life.  ~John Burroughs

It was sooooo hot yesterday! When we were playing our gig, it must have been over 100 even under the canopy we were playing under. I felt like we were standing at the gates of hell and, like Dante‘s gates of hell, the words “Abandon All Hope Ye Who Enter Here”were imprinted on the top of the gates. Virgil was waving me to come forth and journey, but who in their right mind would choose to go 9 levels deeper when you can already feel the heat at the entrance! Yes, it was that hot! The best parts of my day were the cover I did of Adele’sMake you Feel My Love” and a few others. Some other highlights: When I took breaks I would go down to Indian Creek and soak my feet and the water was so cool and refreshing. Before the gig started Kira and I wandered over to Pet Haven, a thrift store, looking for scarves to tie onto my tambourine. I found the scarves but decided to buy a purse that was exactly the style I have been looking for to carry my wallet, my kindle and other miscellaneous things. The color is a little much for me, but hell, for $3.50 who can complain, especially when you only have $5 on you? I also found an unusual little broken brooch for 50 cents, the pin on the back is missing but it has all these cool music symbols on it. Hey, if the shoe fits, right? And, the finale,  a nice night ride on our mountain bikes down by the river with flashlight bungied to our handlebars. Life is good!

 

4 responses »

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

