I Still Get Butterflies

Standard
I Still Get Butterflies

Butterflies in the stomach is a phenomenon characterized by the physical sensation of a “fluttery” feeling in the stomach. This sensation can be a physical sensation related to the body’s fight or flight response or it can be an ineffable experience related to the psychology of nervousness and excitement. Wikipedia

After 20+ years of performing live you would think I wouldn’t get the butterflies anymore. Not so, although they aren’t as severe as the very first time I performed live. This will hand you a laugh. We were playing our first gig as a band and it was my first live performance in front of people in a public venue. I got the butterflies so bad and I was so nervous I was shaking. I was shaking so hard my ass cheeks were shaking and they wouldn’t stop! I felt bad for my drummer, I don’t know if he noticed or not, I hope not, but how embarassing is that! That is the only time that happened, but I still get the butterflies in my stomach. It is always during the first 2 or 3 songs performing at a new venue. They remind me that no matter how far I have come in my career, no matter how confident I am in my music, I still get nervous.

3 responses »

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

