Character Defects

Standard
Character Defects

The final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands. Anne Frank

Last nights topic, character defects. I’ll be the first to admit I am a walking character defect. I’m a control freak and I am, to a certain extent, OCD. I have been told that I need to ask a HP to remove my defects of character. No, not a Hewlett Packard! HP is my higher power. Well, being the person that I am, I have to say this. No one, and no thing is going to remove defects of character for you. You are responsible for you and your behavior and the only person that can change that is you. Yes, it is great to have an HP, whether it is your concept of God, a green haired troll doll, or a far away star. However, I do feel that we, only we, can change certain defects in our characters. That is something that comes from within us, not outside of us. Who’s fault is it that I fell down the rabbit hole of drinking, no ones. I am solely responsible for that chaotic miasma of self-indulgence and self-pity. For that I take full responsibility, in this way I have no one to blame if I fall down the rabbit hole again and end up having drunken conversations with a disappearing cat, a rabbit on the run and a stoned caterpillar!

9 responses »

  1. jaz, I am so happy for you because I can see that you “get it”. You are your higher power and knowing that means all limits are off for you. Here’s something I heard you might like: “If you fall into a deep hole and cannot reach the rim to climb out, is the hole too deep or are your arms too short?” I am still trying to figure out exactly what it means.
    B-day on the way!
    L&P
    SN

  2. For me, the perpetuation of my addictive powerlessness framed my utter dependence on a higher power to recover. How cool that that higher power is alive within me! Recognizing, believing, deciding and doing. 1, 2, 3 …..

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

