Letting Yourself Down

Standard
Letting Yourself Down

Never regret. If it’s good, it’s wonderful. If it’s bad, it’s experience. 

I can’t help but feel disappointed about our gig last night. Our bass player threw out his back and couldn’t make it so we had to run the entire night without bass. Things felt like a train wreck and I probably gave up too soon. We didn’t do the best we could, the drummer did, he was a really good sport about the whole thing. We were all hot and tired and I felt completely lost when I realized that the bass player wasn’t going to show. I got caught off guard and was basically just throwing songs out there to keep things going. I was disorganized and I really should have been prepared better for exactly what happened. In life, I think, we get this picture of how things are supposed to be and when they don’t meet our expectations it throws a curve ball at us and suddenly we realize we left our mitt at home. Well I left my mitt at home last night and apparently my brain as well. Next time I will know better. I know that I am being entirely too hard on myself, I do that a lot. You know what they say, we are our own worst critics. The sad thing about it is I didn’t woman up and make the situation great, I just sort of folded into myself in disappointment, that was by far my biggest mistake. 

20 responses »

  1. I empathize I don’t like change of any kind and having someone you depend on to not be there for whatever reason (I am sure it was a good valid reason) can throw you. Just realize it is over it was not your best and you will be better prepared should something beyond your control happen again.
    I am pretty sure you did a great job you just think you did worse because you have such high expectations of yourself. ((Hugs))

    • Thank you so much, and you are probably right. I think the bad things always stand out more so than the good often times…It’s human nature to examine the negative isn’t it…LOL

  2. I’m sorry that the gig didn’t go as well as expected, but it certainly wasn’t your fault that you didn’t have a bass player, or warning that he wasn’t going to be there. At least the show still went on and you kept singing. (Anyway, if you were singing, how bad could it have been? : ) Chin up, on to the next –and better–gig! ~ Lily

  3. Victoria Holt’s got it right…. Chalk it up to experience girl…..
    Life isn’t always gonna go right! That’s just a fact…
    ‘Accepting’ that is the way to go…. 😉
    Luv ya….

  4. Its easy to get blindsided at a gig, especially if you’ve made the stage a ‘safe’ place – your comfort zone. When I step out with my main bands, I know exactly whats supposed to happen when, i totally trust the other guys are going to do their thing on cue, and we can fly, cos we feel ‘safe’. But this weekend for example, I’m doing four local shows around the beach bars with 2 other guys, no rehearsals together, just for the fun of it – and it will be a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants-what the-fuck-comes-next-crazy experience! And I NEED those, because they help when you get caught off guard like when your bassist didn’t show. I like getting up and jamming when I don’t know the song, it stretches me and teaches me – but above all it makes me fearless. You’re fearless Jaz, and that mis-step only strengthens you. Anyway, YOU did the gig, the bass player’s a wuss! 🙂 I’ve done gigs when I was throwing up in the wings between verses (not a good look) The show must go on, right? 😉

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

