Starting Off on the Wrong Foot

Standard
Starting Off on the Wrong Foot

I ignore texts. I let the phone ring. It’s nothing personal, but people need to realize that sometimes I don’t want to talk.

Yesterday I was in a very strange place. I was with a group of people I absolutely love, but I just didn’t feel like being around them or anyone for that matter. I had made a loaf of zucchini bread that I had made for Jim, a friend of mine, and the only reason I went was to give it to him. Anyway…while I was standing there with J.D. talking and waiting to give the bread to Jim this young woman came up to me and without even knowing me or anything about me she says, “So, I hear your a rock star.” I didn’t even look at her, I just said “No, not really.”  and I continued my conversation with J.D. and basically ignored her. I don’t know why she irritates me or why her comment really irritated me, it just did. A couple of reasons come to mind:

  1. Whenever she talks in our meetings she is always taking everyone else’s inventory and pointing out what others are doing wrong.
  2. She has no right to take anyone’s inventory but her own . (No one should be taking anyone else’s inventory anyway.)
  3. I am only a musician and playing live in front of a crowd of people is just what I do for my livelihood. I am not a “rock star”, nor have I EVER considered myself to be one and the term just annoys the piss out of me. I can’t explain why.
  4. She doesn’t even know me and instead of introducing herself to me like a “normal” person, these are the first words out of her mouth to me. It struck me as derogatory in the manner in which she said it and, as I have said, slightly annoying.

The fact of the matter is that I can be a real bitch, especially if you don’t know me and I am very blunt, which can rub people the wrong way. However; on the other side of the coin I am genuine and a very loving person. It just takes a little to get to know me and certainly walking up to me and making a derogatory comment is not the best way to start out on the “right” foot with me. I called my friend Kym this morning to find out for sure if it was just me having a bad day or if this young woman is just an obnoxious and irritating person. She let me in on the fact that apparently this girl rubs everyone the wrong way. So, any guilt I may have felt about choosing to ignore her and her asinine comment is gone, unfortunately I doubt if this girl and I will ever be friends anytime soon because once you start out with me on the wrong foot the odds of getting on the right foot are probably nil.

 

14 responses »

  1. Perhaps someone needs to take this young woman aside and explain that her lack of manners and tact are hurting her. Remind her that you only have one opportunity to make a first impression. Seems the right thing to do to me.

    • You’re absolutely right. I don’t think she knows or realizes how she comes across to the other members of our group and apparently I am not the only one who feels the same way. Sometimes I wish I didn’t read people so fast and so well, sometimes I can be too quick to judgement, but most the time I am spot on.

  2. There is no legitimate rule that I am aware of that claims we must be door mats in order to ascend to the heights. If there is, I don’t want to hear it. Why would anyone want to be on “the right foot” with someone like her anyway?

  3. Hey Jaz; she’s probably one scared little rabbit underneath that harsh exterior..! Hopefully she’ll learn the right way to approach people. She’s also probably quite jealous of your abilities. You know; people often try to ‘put down’ anything or anyone who they admire. Naturally, they don’t realise that until they mature a bit. I think you may be better off if you see that type of approach more as a compliment than a criticism or rudeness… Closer to the truth, I’m sure… xoxoxo

  4. Lol! You just keep it real Jaz. I’ve been going through so much lately, I can barely get a post out. I’ve been pretty pissed off too! Lol! I had to get an attitude adjustment. Lol! Doing better now! Blessings Jaz.

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

