Here’s Looking up Your Kilt

Standard
Here’s Looking up Your Kilt

Is there anything worn under the kilt? No, it’s all in perfect working order. Spike Milligan 

I have never been to a Ceilidh, pronounced Kaylee, before. Nor have I ever been to a Celtic Festival either. I am so excited. I’m hoping to meet up with some other family members from the Daffydd (Davies, Davis) clan of Wales that settled near Malad, Idaho about the same time that my family did. Chances are I have cousins living there that I don’t even know about. It would also be very cool to meet some friends from near where my family came from, Cowbridge, Swansea or Cardiff. My Grandmother and Grandad always tried to keep us in tune with our roots and of all their grandchildren I am the only one that carried on the tradition of music, which is a very big thing in Wales. Wales is called “The Land of Song” and for a very good reason. Music is a huge part of our heritage. I don’t know why I am the only musician since my great-granfather, maybe I got the strongest part of the musical gene pool. I have been singing since I was 3, picked up the violin when I was 10 and switched to guitar at 16. I am always a vocalist first, and my guitar skills are very secondary. Anyway, I can’t wait to see the dancing and hear some of the other music. There is one group called “The Celtic Sisters” and they sing in Gaelic, which is so cool to me because they are the only other group of musicians performing in a Celtic native tongue besides me.  We are also the only group performing traditional folk music from Wales so it’s a very important thing to me that I represent my family and our country the best that I can! I can’t wait!!!!!!!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: No Pain…No Gain « EZ Street a Day in the Life

  2. Pingback: Time’s up! « jazfagan

  3. Hey… maybe we’re related! Probably not actually. My second wife’s sister lives in Malad on a ranch. Her father is of Welsh ancestry… name of Jones. In fact, my wife (ex now) dragged me all over Wales in the early 80’s seeking her roots. We went to Malad for a visit. Nice country. Nice time. I don’t remember his last name, but if you run into a Blaine and Shelly… say hi for me.

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

