Negativism, Rage, Anger and the Internet

Standard
Negativism, Rage, Anger and the Internet

For every minute you remain angry, you give up sixty seconds of peace of mind. Ralph Waldo Emerson

I think we are all guilty of it. At some point or another we have gotten on our FaceBook, or our blog, I know that I have, and just spewed out all the anger or rage or disgust we are feeling at someone or thing we have felt treated us unjustly. I have done it in moments of rage, hurt and anger. Did it solve anything, absolutely not. Did it make things any better, well, I might have felt better for like 2.5 seconds. At the end of the day I came to realize that spewing that kind of anger may or may not reach my intended target. What I did realize is that the many friends and family and people I didn’t even know saw that anger and rage just as surely as if I was standing on the busiest intersection in the world butt naked. Do I want people seeing this anger and hot rage. No! Sure, I may be angry, but spewing out a diatribe of profanity and rage serves no purpose other than to alienate people you know and people you don’t even know yet. It completely turns people off. My advice to anyone feeling this kind of rage and anger at someone is to confront the person that hurt you face to face, not FaceBook to FaceBook. Take it from someone who knows, it will only come back to hurt you in some unexpected way just as surely as a boomerang comes back to the hand that threw it. Be peaceful my friends, if you’re angry don’t keep it bottled up, confront the source, don’t spew it out there for the world to see. Once it’s out there you can’t take it back, nor can you take back the indelible impression you will leave with all those people that you probably didn’t even know were seeing it. Just my Buddhist thought for the day and on that note I will leave you with No Doubt….

 

 

21 responses »

      • No kidding right!!! I would give everything I have if The Facebook was unplugged for one whole week … I’d sit back with a nice drink and watch the hilarity ensue. 🙂

      • I know huh! Dam it if I didn’t need it to promote my music I would never, ever choose to use it. It is a freakin vampire man! 😦

      • I have a fun game to share with you. The next time you go out to dinner with a group of friends: Each one of you places your phone in the center of the table. The first one to reach for their phone has to pick up the tab for the whole table. If another peep grabs their phone? They share the tab … so on and so forth. I have tired this game now the last two weekends with some Facebook social media crazy friends … Free drinks and dinner has never tasted so good! 🙂

  1. A little secret my wise old grandmother taught me in 1966 when I was 11:

    If you are angry at someone, sit down and write them a letter explaining why you are angry. If you can, explain to them what they should do to make the anger subside.

    Once you’re finished, put it in a dark drawer or closet. Get it out 24 hours later and read it. If you still feel that way, send it.

    I have written many letters in the ensuing 46 years and sent not a single one.

    • LOL, what a great policy. I love it. I will try that next time I feel absolutely furious at someone or thing. Actually you were the inspiration for this blog. I felt so bad about a couple of my posts and embarrassed that I had let my tone and language get out of hand that I swore after we talked that day I would never ever do that again. I have a friend on FB who is posting some very negative diatribes and based upon the inspiration I had from you I chose to write that blog today hoping he would see it in the same spirit in which I took what you had to say. Very good, constructive criticism that was much warranted. Peace, Jaz

      • I’m off to La Jolla to meet with Bashar (2 Rivers Photos) to get some pictures of the tidepools since we have a negative low tide at 5:25 this afternoon. Talk to you later!

      • Peace Russel, make it a great day! And BTW thank you my friend for camping out in my blog today. You are always such a clean camper! 😀

  2. Pingback: Negativism, Rage, Anger and the Internet « Something Unspoken

  3. Pingback: Clean Out Your Closet: Anger « Abrielle Valencia

  4. Pingback: Anger | Quotes for Kirty

  5. Pingback: Oh, how I long to be free…….. « Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

