Freelancing….

Standard
Freelancing….

Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia. ~E.L. Doctorow

I responded yesterday to an ad and no sooner had I spoke to a very nice man on the phone before I was told to contact another person about writing for their magazine. It looks like I am going back to freelance writing after quitting Knoji, previously known as Factoidz. I had been writing for Factoidz for 4 years and I wrote religiously almost everyday on a wide variety of topics. I loved it because I was free to write on whatever I chose, in fact I had created a Factoidz on the news called “News From the Muse” which basically discussed current stories in the news that were strange, or just downright bizarre. I also created a whole series on how to shoot pool, as well as articles on various public figures that I admired. When Knoji took over the pay scale dropped to such a pathetic low that I couldn’t justify wasting my energy and time writing a minimum 400 word article and getting paid 40 cents an article! So, in May I quit. I am so happy to be going back to my other love besides music. I don’t want to jinx myself and tell anyone what magazine I am writing for. As soon as I receive my first assignment and it is accepted I will then let the cat out of the bag and tell you which magazine I am working for. Yay Jaz!

23 responses »

  1. Pingback: Freelancing…. | vividlyfoxxy

  2. FORTY CENTS AN ARTICLE!!! And I thought ten bucks a story was cheap! Good for you, Jaz, for quitting and going or something better! You know, KNOW, you can do it! What you have to say is worth hearing, unlike the debates and talking heads on tv. Fingers crossed for you, Cranky

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

