Leading the Lambs to Slaughter

Standard
Leading the Lambs to Slaughter

“Believing with you that religion is a matter which lies solely between Man & his God, that he owes account to none other for his faith or his worship, that the legitimate powers of government reach actions only, & not opinions, I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should ‘make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,’ thus building a wall of separation between Church and State.” Thomas Jefferson

 I usually don’t have a lot to say about politics, but for once I am going to speak my opinion because it is an issue that bothers me deeply as a woman and as a Buddhist. I have difficulty in believing that Mitt Romney could even begin to keep church and state separate. I have spent my life around Mormons, my mother and my grandmother are both LDS, and I know first hand that Mormons are zealots and Mormonism strikes me as being almost cult like. Now I know I am going to get lambasted for saying what I think, probably most by Mormons defending their faith, however this is only an opinion.

How, I ask you, is a Mormon going to keep his extremist religious beliefs out of state affairs? Like many religions the Mormons believe that their views are the only “right” ones and that everyone else is wrong and if you don’t follow their path you are surely going to hell. Well this strikes me as no better than leading the lambs to slaughter if Romney gets elected president. We might as well throw the church and state policy that Jefferson and John Locke supported and brought into the United States consciousness right out the window. It is one thing to be a Governor of one state, it is an entirely  different issue to be the Commander in Chief of the United States. You have to be open minded and you also have to be able to embrace all nationalities, all religions, all genders and all people poor and wealthy alike. Romney is not a good fit. I truly understand that Mormons love to convert people of all nations, hell they put the M in missionary. One has to wonder about how they feel about people that don’t want to convert to their zealotry. 

Probably one of the most disturbing ideas that I can’t get out of my head is the way the Mormon men reflect on their women. Women are no better than chattel and breeding factories. They certainly don’t hold an equal status in a marriage. The whole polygamy thing is a disturbing issue in and of itself. Yes, of course they have laws against that now, thank goodness, however the men thought nothing of taking as many wives as they could get and used the excuse that the men were being killed off and there were more men to women so it was necessary to take more than one wife. That logic is simply disgusting. It’s an excuse for them to have sex with as many women as they want and for it to be deemed perfectly acceptable. Let’s not forget the excuse of making sure that the Mormon species survive by breeding and having 20 children with 5 different women. There are still some places in Utah and around the United States that practice polygamy in the name of Mormonism and against all constitutional laws.

I will not apologize for my beliefs to anyone. I am not the only one who feels this way. At one time I was baptized LDS, before I wised up and realised what a frightening, brainwashing,  zealous religion it is. My great grandfather was a polygamist and I am, to this day, ashamed to admit that there are Mormons in my family lineage. Mitt Romney does NOT represent me as a Buddhist and certainly not as a woman and he never will.  Just because I am Buddhist it does not mean that I don’t have an opinion.

Dalai Lama
“All the world’s major religions, with their emphasis on love, compassion, patience, tolerance, and forgiveness can and do promote inner values. But the reality of the world today is that grounding ethics in religion is no longer adequate. This is why I am increasingly convinced that the time has come to find a way of thinking about spirituality and ethics beyond religion altogether.”

“The Beauty Of Gray” Live

If I told you he was your brother
We could reminisce
Then you would go about your day
If I said you ought to give him some of your water
You’d shake your canteen and walk awayThe perception that divides you from him
Is a lie
For some reason you never asked why
This is not a black and white world
You can’t afford to believe in your sideThis is not a black and white world
To be alive
I say that the colours must swirl
And I believe
That maybe today
We will all get to appreciateThe Beauty of Grey

If I told you she was your mother
We could analyze the situation and be gone
If I said you ought to give her
Some of your water
Your eyes would light up like the dawn
The perception that divides you from her
Is a lie
For some reason we never asked why
This is not a black and white world
You can’t afford to believe in your side

This is not a black and white world
To be alive
I say the colors must swirl
And I believe
That maybe today
We will all get to appreciate

The beauty of gray

Look into your eyes
No daylight
New day now

20 responses »

  1. Jaz, I agree that it is quite a pickle but do not think obama is better as he is already trying to compel religions to violate their own teachings and to silence them. What to do? What to do? I am afraid many of us may have to prepare to be jailed or worse for our beliefs. No matter who gets elected. It has happened many times before and will happen again long after we have gone. As long as we are true to our teachings it may not be all right but some things will be right.

    • One can only hope MS1. I am having a hard time this election year because Obama has had such a weight on his shoulders and I think he has had an unfair amount piled on him from previous admins. Everyone expected far too much out of any one man, regardless of beliefs, I think Obama has given his all to this country.

    • mindsurfer, I’m not sure what specifically you are referring to when you say “jailed or worse for our beliefs.” What is worse than being jailed and how do you think this will occur in this US of A?

  2. Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the “BEEP”
    I think this (your comment intro) is gorgeous, Jaz….
    I don’t want to get involved in another country’s politics, Jaz. However, I do want to say this piece is a very thoughtful, and informative article…. Well done..!

  3. Discussing politics or religion is always a ticklish topic. Discussing both politics and religion in the same thread? You are a brave soul, Jaz. I generally agree with the notion that religion and government needs to have that separation. Yet, the religious beliefs we all have do influence decisions we make. I say influence, and not pre-determine. Ultimately, we vote for the candidate most aligned with our own interests, and given the large disparity of split votes (most elections, even routs are never more than 10 percentage points in difference) we should hope the winner takes into account and represents those who did not vote for him or her. Idealistic, I know.

  4. I got to be baptized four times: once as a baby in the Catholic Church, then as a Mormon in 1962 or so, then again as a Catholic in 1966, then as a Presbyterian in 1978. The Mormons didn’t accept the Catholic baptism at birth, and the Catholics in 1966 said they needed to wash away the Mormon baptism of 1962. The Presbyterians in 1978 didn’t recognize the Catholic or Mormon baptisms. I didn’t wake up until 1983 although I kept trying to be religious through 1993. I’m past all that stuff now.

    • I am grateful everyday to be Buddhist. I study everyday and am always learning something new that I didn’t know or realize before about the nature of man and myself. Have a great day Russel, 🙂

  5. Very well stated post. Don’t be ashamed of your heritage, there’s no need to attach to form. All is as it should be in order to grow. Cheers to life!

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

