Today I Say Good-Bye….

Standard
Today I Say Good-Bye….

You and I will meet again, When we’re least expecting it, One day in some far off place, I will recognize your face, I won’t say goodbye my friend, For you and I will meet again. Tom Petty

Today is Gracie’s funeral and even as I sit writing this the tears are pouring from my eyes. It is so hard to say good-bye. In this life I have very few friends that I am really close to, I have a lot of aquaintainces, but  maybe a handful of people that are so close to me they know me better than I know myself. Gracie was just like that, she would call me on my BS when she knew I was wrong and she always supported me, as a friend and with my music and art. She would never leave my house or hers, or anywhere for that matter without getting a hug from me, she demanded it and for her I would gladly give it. The fact of the matter is I don’t want to say good-bye, I don’t want her to be gone. I want to hear her funny laughter, I want to hear her voice, I want to look into her eyes. I know that she is not feeling any pain anymore, In know her body is finally at rest that was, in the end ravaged by diabetes and  numerous strokes. For that I am grateful, I would never want for her to continue suffering and in Grace’s own way she left this Earth when she knew it was her time. Grace will forever hold a special place in my heart and in my soul. She may be gone but she will never, ever be forgotten.

3 responses »

  1. Wonderful to have known such a friend, Jaz…
    In 2011 I had to farewell a good male friend… Still today I can’t take his pic off my fridge, and I love to look at it occasionally… (It’s on the side, not the front…) It reminds me how blessed I was to have known such a great person… xoxoxo

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

