A Little History……

Standard

Ever since I can remember I had always wanted to be a vocalist. I started singing when I was 3 and playing violin in the 5th grade. At 16 I picked up the guitar. I never really focused on the guitar until the last year. I mainly used it solely as a writing tool. This last year, for me as a musician, have been my happiest and most productive. In my younger days, before I started performing pro at 19, I spent my time singing songs by groups such as The Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, Boston, and many more 60’s and 70’s groups. At about the age of 16 my taste switched and I was teaching myself to sing songs by Black Sabbath, Dokken, Queensryche and that heavy genre. From the age of 19-23 all I could think of was being a heavy metal performer. I went from Baltimore, MD to California as a heavy metal performer 

Things change. At 23 my husband at the time introduced me to the blues. I found it to be a real good fit for me as a vocalist because of my low alto voice. So, from 23-42 I was performing in blues based rock bands all over Idaho and Oregon. I loved the blues and it was a great fit for me. When I was younger my Grandmother talked a lot to me about our Welsh roots and always told me to have pride in our heritage. A little over a year ago I got involved with the Welsh Society here in Idaho. It was at this point that they asked me if I would perform at the Celtic Festival. I spent 3 months almost everyday teaching myself Welsh traditional and folk songs in preparation. The guitar work was the easiest part. The part that was most difficult was the language. Looking back now I find that the new Welsh songs I learn come easier and easier. 

Where I am at today. I love where I am at as a musician! I find performing acoustic and without a full 5 piece band to be so much more rewarding. I love performing songs that reflect me and my family’s heritage. Yes, the journey has been long and hard to get where I am. There have been many heart breaks, but, it’s been a fun journey and I can’t wait to see what the next 10 years hold for me as a musician. I am fortunate enough to be able to perform songs that are uniquely Welsh. It is also helping me to expand on my original music as well. The journey has been long, sometimes fraught with disaster and pain, but, I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world!

2 responses »

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"